What are the penalties for a first-time DUI in Colorado?

Now, that summer is just around the corner, you may be more than ready to head out and enjoy visiting some Denver metro area craft breweries. You might invite a few of your buddies along for a Saturday afternoon or evening of brewery visits. But then the unexpected happens: You face a DUI checkpoint before going to your last stop of the night. Even worse, police arrest you for DUI after your breathalyzer test shows a blood alcohol level of .08%.

What penalties will you face if you receive a first-time DUI conviction in Colorado?

In Colorado, drivers who have their blood alcohol content measuring .08% face DUI charges. Drivers who have a blood alcohol level of .05% to .08% will face charges of driving while ability impaired (DWAI).

With a first-time DUI conviction, you could:

  • Spend a minimum of five days in jail
  • Have your driver’s license suspended for nine days to one year
  • Pay a $600 fine
  • Have an ignition interlock device installed for eight months
  • Spend 48 to 96 hours completing community service
  • Complete an alcohol evaluation, determining the level of substance abuse or addiction you need to complete as part of your sentence

For a first-time DWAI conviction, you could:

  • Spend at least two days in jail
  • Pay a fine of $200-500
  • Spend 24 to 48 hours completing community service
  • Complete an alcohol evaluation, determining the level of substance abuse or addiction you need to complete as part of your sentence

You likely won’t face felony charges for DUI in Colorado unless you have received at least three previous DUI convictions or you cause an drunk driving accident where someone suffers serious injury or is killed.

If you are facing DUI or DWAI charges in Colorado, you should consult a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. An attorney can review the circumstances of your arrest and determine if your breathalyzer results were accurate. An attorney can help mount a defense against the drunk driving charges you face and possibly get your charges reduced.

With help, you can defend your rights and help preserve your freedom. You can get the best outcome when facing DUI charges and possibly avoid the consequences that come with a conviction.